Thanksgiving & Life Update #3

Hello all,

I totally expected to have a post prepared for you this week, especially with my time off for Thanksgiving break, but clearly that didn’t happen. As a replacement, I thought I’d give ya’ll a lil update about what’s been going on with me.

We had no classes Wednesday-Friday for Thanksgiving break and I went down to my aunt’s house to celebrate the holiday with my family. I recently had a birthday as well, and sine I started college and I’m not with my family to celebrate my birthday, we usually celebrate it when I come visit for Thanksgiving. As you may or may not know about me, I struggle with family-centered events because I don’t get along with my family very well. This particular holiday was important for me, though, because my grandmother is sick, so I wanted to spend it with her.

My grandma ended up going to the hospital less than an hour after I got to my aunt’s on Wednesday night and was still there when I left on Saturday afternoon. The break consisted of Thanksgiving dinner on Thursday night surrounded by hours-long visits to the hospital. It was exhausting and stressful, but she’s doing a lot better now, so that’s what I’m thankful for this year, I guess.

I was able to get ahead on homework over break, and finish rereading Illuminae for book club this week. There’ll be a review for that one coming for this Wednesday’s post, and I’m kind of stoked to write it. I was able to get along with my family a little better than normal, which was good considering the stressful time we had. I’m not yet ready to get back into action with classes, clubs, and work this week but we only have to weeks until finals, so it’s all hands on deck until December 18. I’m feeling pretty confident and not to overwhelmed for once, which is a strange and welcomed feeling. I am, though, ready to dive into writing my Illuminae review, reading Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2), and playing Pokemon Moon.

See ya’ll on Wednesday with my Illuminae review! Until then, you can check out my last review and Writing Update #2.

As always, you can find me in my various corners of the internet: Twitter, Tumblr, Instagram, and Goodreads.

 

Leave a Reply

