Fall 2016 Wrap-up & Favorites

Wrap-Up
This fall has been quite a stressful one for me. This semester was particularly busy, causing me to miss a whole month worth of posts, which I was disappointed about. (Sorry, October!) Trying to stay away from my harmful family is difficult to balance with spending time with my newly diagnosed grandmother, work, and school. It’s been a really tough year, and I’m happy it’s coming to a close. I expect 2017 to be really exciting, and hopefully an improvement.

Because of this mess of a year, I haven’t read nearly as much as I would have liked. In fact, I’ve only ready 36 books so far this year, 10 this fall. I’m hoping to read 4 more this month to reach my Goodreads goal of 40 books this year. I’m currently reading Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2) by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman, and I’m impatiently awaiting winter break so I can binge – my TBR shelf is literally starting to curve from the weight of all of the books on it.

Here’s my fall 2016 wrap-up, with some of the things I most enjoyed this fall!

Music

mowglis-whered-your-weekend-go-cover-art1   rs-196723-mi0003850044   csao6pdweaukb1v
The Mowgli’s
I’ve been into catchy alt-pop a lot, and The Mowgli’s are a great example of this. They’re newly discovered for me, and I’ve been listening to their new album Where’d Your Weekend Go? a lot as I’ve been working my way through mountains of assignments finishing up the semester.

Florence & the Machine
Florence has been my go-to artist for the twenty-minute walk to and from campus this semester, one that I take sometimes twice a day. I recently bought How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful a few weeks ago, and play it constantly. Something about it makes me want to do some dramatic dancing and lip-synching rendition. Anyway, totally recommend.

Lady Gaga
I’ve been totally obsessed with Gaga’s new album Joanne this fall. You can see how much she’s changed and matured through her music, and the songs are definitely different and unique than most of the pop music I listen to. I honestly think this is some of her best work so I definitely recommend checking it out!

Movies


The Secret Life of Pets
I’m not a big movie buff (don’t have the attention span for them, honestly) but I quite enjoyed The Secret Life of Pets. I was excited for this pre-release, something that rarely happens, and it didn’t disappoint. It was happy, feel-good and absolutely adorable.

Mulan
Okay, so I haven’t seen most classic Disney movies. Like I said, I’m not a big movie person, and I never was. As a kid, I wanted to make up long elaborate stories with my Barbies and read a lot of books. As a result, I missed out on a lot of movies. I recently saw Mulan for the first time a few weeks ago and I absolutely loved it. I can see now why I have so many friends who rank it #1 among their favorite childhood movies (though mine will always be The Lion King). I definitely wish I had seen it earlier!

Books


Illuminae

I recently reread Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman for my university’s book club (see my review here!) and I loved it just as much as the first time. I’m not usually as into books the second time I read them, but this one kept me invested for 600 pages a second time, and I think that’s an accomplishment. I’ve been recommending this one to everyone, so I had to put it in my fall favorites even though I read it for the first time in January.

Harry Potter & the Cursed Child

I’ve heard a lot of mixed reviews of this one (read mine here!) but I personally adored this one. Granted, I didn’t feel like the personalities of the main Harry Potter characters were consistent with the original series, and the plot was a bit odd, even for a magical universe. I absolutely loved the main characters and it was a whimsical read. I enjoyed it all the way through.

Games


Pokemon Sun & Moon
My roommate is a big gamer, and she recently got me back into Pokemon. I quit playing the game when I was a kid, but I’ve been going through the old ones little by little now. I got the newest one, Pokemon Sun & Moon (I got Moon) for my birthday last month and I’ve been obsessed with it. Even though I skipped a few generations and am a relatively new player, I’m having a great time with it. Plus, Rowlet is adorable.

Overcooked

Another game my roommate and I play. This is a hilarious game that I suggest playing with friends. It requires you to work together to put out food orders, which sounds simple enough, but the different levels have different maps and quirks, such as the lights going out, countertops sliding back and forth, or the players being trapped in certain areas. We have such a great time playing it, even though we’re constantly shouting.

That’s all I have for now. Be sure to check back every Wednesday for new posts!

As always, you can find me in my various corners of the Internet: Twitter, Tumblr, Instagram, and Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

