Favorite Moments of 2016

Hi all,

I hope you’re having a wonderful holiday season if you celebrate. I’ll be camped out at my aunt’s house until the new year, but I’m really looking forward to heading back to my apartment were I have my own space. Anyway, I originally had typed up some of my main 2017 goals, and planned on using that as today’s post. However, I saw people posting their favorite moments of 2016 and decided that that sounded like a much more fun way to end 2016 – remembering the best moments rather than dwelling on all of the over-whelming things I want to try to accomplish. So, here are my top 5 favorite moments of 2016:

  • Made Dean’s List!
    This may not seem like a big deal to some people, but I made Dean’s List during my sophomore year of college. I came into college as a science major, and changed to English (Creative Writing) my first semester. Because I had done rather poorly in my chemistry lecture and lab, my GPA wasn’t all that great that first year. However, with English, I was able to bring it up, and it was such a comforting moment when I got the letter in the mail telling me I had made Dean’s List. It was a confirmation to me that I had made the right choice changing my major.
  • Moved into an apartment with my roommate
    This is another thing that might seem little to someone else, but it was a big deal to me. I moved into an apartment with my college roommate where I pay rent and everything. It’s a big step for me toward independence and adulthood, which is really important to me. It’s one of those things I never thought I would actually accomplish and yet here we are, and I’m proud of myself.
  • Editor of literary magazine.
    One of my biggest college accomplishments happened this year. At the end of my sophomore year, I was told that I would be one of the three fiction genre editors for my university’s literary magazine. In a year, I had gone from someone who thought they were so unqualified that they would never take a position in the lit mag to accepting a position as a genre editor. I still have a long was to go as far as a leader, but I’m so thankful I was given the opportunity. I’ve gotten to know so many wonderful staff members of the mag, and it’s like a step forward to the person I want to be.
  • New kitten!
    When I was considering my favorite moments of 2016, this is one of the first that came to mind. When my roommate and I had settled into our apartment over the summer, we got a new kitten, Kiko. We were able to bring my cat, who was being fostered by some family members, up to our little college town too. It’s so heart-warming to have my little fuzzies with me every day.

lpl

  • Let’s Play Live!
    One of the most fun things I was able to do this year was take a train to New York City for a weekend in October to see Let’s Play Live, which is basically a bunch of hilarious YouTubers live-playing games and being hilarious. My roommate is a big fan of Rooster Teeth and I have recently been watching them more and more, so it was a total blast. Plus, spending the weekend in New York wandering around and shopping was fantastic.
  • Bonus: I got my first job ever! I work at my university’s Writing Center, where I help people fix up their essays and things like that. I work with some other wonderful English majors, and I actually love it.

Hopefully, 2017 turns out to be even better! I hope you all have a wonderful New Year!

As always, you can find me in my various corners of the Internet: Twitter, Tumblr, Instagram, and Goodreads.

 

Leave a Reply

