Spring 2017 Wrap-up and Faves

Hi all,

As my first post back, I wanted to do a wrap-up of what I’ve been enjoying this spring before we transition into summer. Here, I talk about the music, movies, video games, and books I’ve enjoyed within the last few months.

Music

New All Time Low!
I’ve been a fan of ATL since I was in middle school, and still listen to them non-stop. I’ve been jamming to the singles from their new album, Last Young Renegade, and I have the album pre-ordered. I can’t wait to finally hear some new music from one of my favorite bands!

Lovely, Little, Lonely by The Maine
Okay, The Maine is just one of those bands who keeps getting better with every album. I didn’t know it was possible to beat American Candy, but they did it with Lovely, Little, Lonely and I’m obsessed with it.

Florence & the Machine
Florence has such a unique sound and I have yet to find music with the same vibe. While I don’t listen to her constantly, she’s definitely one of the musicians I constantly go back to, and I’m going through a phase with her music right now even though she hasn’t released a new album since 2015.

Movies

Studio Ghibli & Miyazaki
Over the last few months, my roommate has been showing me a ton of Studio Ghibli & Miyazaki films and I’ve absolutely adored them. They’re so unique (there’s that word again  – sorry!) and feel-good and just gorgeous. My favorites so far have been Kiki’s Delivery Service, My Neighbor Totoro, and The Cat Returns.

Games

I like to include video games in my wrap-ups and faves because they’re another way for me to get lost in fantasy.

The Switch, Breath of the Wild, & Mario Kart
As a reward for finishing up the semester, my roommate bought the new Nintendo Switch. She bought The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild and has let me play until I have enough money to save up for my own. Ya’ll, I cried when Nintendo announced this game. The Legend of Zelda is my favorite game franchise. They have the most beautiful scenery and music, and they’re so easy to get lost in. Breath of the Wild is just as gorgeous as I expected and I’m so happy to finally play it. Unfortunately, it’s hella hard and I’ve already quit several times – and obviously picked it back up again because I can’t stop. I have a love-hate relationship with it, but I’m including it because I’m still obsessed with it. As a way to destress between Breath of the Wild sessions, I also bought Mario Kart 8 Deluxe and have been playing that a ton since we bought the Switch.

The Sims 4
As a way to really destress, I’ve been playing a lot of The Sims during this break. I go on Sims binges where I play constantly for a few days and then not at all. But I’ve been playing it a lot recently – I guess there’s not much to say about it, right?

Books

Last but not least . . .

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
I haven’t read a lot of books this spring that I actually enjoyed, because most of them have been for class. I recently read Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell and really enjoyed that one. It was a really feel-good book, and great to transition from the heavy reading of the semester to some light, summer YA.

Love, an Index by Rebecca Lindenberg
I’m a huge poetry person, so I’ve been trying to read more of it. My friends went to a conference a few months ago and brought me back some poetry books. I’ve finally had some time so sit down and enjoy them, and I recently read Love, an Index by Rebecca Lindenberg. It was beautiful and definitely earned a place on my list of favorite poetry books. It reminded me how much I really love poetry and to read more of it.

Hope you enjoyed my Spring wrap-up! Check back next week for my most anticipated summer 2017 YA. You can also follow me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, & Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

