Top 5 Most Anticipated Summer 2017 YA Releases

Hi all,

It was a busy semester, but I’m back from hiatus with some new content for you all! I’m going to try to spend the summer getting ahead on posts so I don’t have to take a break again. For now, here are the YA summer releases I’m most looking forward to this year!

Dessen - Once and for All.jpg

Once and for All – Sarah Dessen (June 6th)
Okay, I’ve been reading Sarah Dessen since 7th grade, and I always get so excited for her new releases. I’ve been stoked for this one for months. This one seems true to her pattern – a girl-meets-boy blossoming romance while also navigating real life problems sort of thing. Dessen’s novels always have a way of making me feel warm and cheesy inside, and they’re what made me fall in love with YA romance, so I’m definitely looking forward to getting my hands on a new release from her! (In fact, by the time this post goes up, this one will most likely be out already.) (Goodreads)

Buxbaum - What to Say Next

What to Say Next – Julie Buxbaum (July 11th)
From the Goodreads description, this also has a Dessen-feel to it. It actually reminds me a lot of her novel Just Listen. What intrigued me with this, other than reminding me of one of my favorite Dessen novels, was that it’s about a search to find answers about the heroine’s dad’s car accident. I’m a sucker for books that start with a big question and promise a shocking answer, so I’m definitely looking forward to seeing what Kit and David discover in this one. (Goodreads)

Stokes - This is how it Happened

This is How it Happened – Paula Stokes (July 11th)
Again, what roped me in with this one was the mystery. The main character, Genevieve, wakes from a coma and slowly remembers the night that the accident happened and the part she played. The description gave me hard We Were Liars vibes, and I absolutely devoured that book. I’m hoping This is How it Happened does the same for me. (Goodreads)

Maxwell - The Last Magician

The Last Magician – Lisa Maxwell (July 18th)
Magicians in New York? I’m sold. I’ve been on a magic/fantasy kick lately, and this seemed to check all of my boxes. Esta is a magician who steals things from the past – this sounds like the lovechild of The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater and Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo – two of my favorite reads of 2016. I absolutely cannot wait to get my hands on it. (Goodreads)

Bardugo - Wonder Woman

Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Idols #1) – Leigh Bardugo (August 29th)
Ya’ll, this might just be one of my most anticipated releases of 2017. I was so excited when this was announced! I’m a huge fan of Bardugo’s work and badass female heroes. While I’m more of a Marvel fan and not as familiar with the DC stories, I’m still stoked for this. I love the YA twist it seems Bardugo will be able to pull off with this. Diana wants to prove herself to her sisters, and Alia wanted to escape her overprotective brother by spending a semester at sea (ugh, siblings, right?). Obviously, they work together to save the world, and I’m here for that. (Goodreads)

Are there any new releases you’re looking forward to this summer? Let me know in the comments, and feel free to send me recommendations for Goodreads!

Leave a Reply

