My Summer 2017 TBR

Summer 2017 TBR Photo - EDITED.jpg

Hi all,

It’s been a while since I bought new books, and I’m slowly trying to dwindle down my TBR shelf. Most of these books have been sitting on this shelf collecting dust for some time now, especially since I didn’t have much time for leisure reading during the semester. This summer, my reading list is dedicated to clearing up some space on this shelf so I can make room for more books – I haven’t been able to keep up with current reads and it’s driving me nuts! Most of these are a bit old, published within the last 5 to 10 years. Hopefully by the end of the summer I’ll be able to buy new books without the guilt of all of the unread ones sitting on my shelf.

There are about 30 books on my TBR shelf and I won’t go through all of them, but here are the ones at the top of my list:

Taylor_Daughter of Smoke and Bone

My current read is Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor. I was in the mood for some fantasy so I finally picked up up after purchasing it at my university’s bookstore Freshman or Sophomore year.

 

Anderson_Wintergirls                            Anderson_The Impossible Knife of Memory

I’ve had both The Impossible Knife of Memory and Wintergirls on my TBR lists before – and have yet to pick them up. I’ve heard so many wonderful things about Laurie Halse Anderson’s writing as well as both of these novels, so I definitely want to (finally) read them this summer.

Khalastichi_Tradition

At a lit mag conference this past fall, my friends picked up a few poetry books for me. I have yet to really crack open Tradition by Daniel Khalastchi yet, though I’ve poked through it a bit. I’ve been trying to read more poetry this summer, and I plan to continue toward that goal with Tradition.

Yoon_Everything Everything

Sticking with my apparent theme of blue, a book I definitely want to get to this summer is Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. There’s been a lot of buzz about this one, and I definitely want in on it. I’ve been putting it off for quite a while because it’s about such heavy topics, but sandwiching it between some light YA or manga and poetry should do the trick.

Martin_A Dance with Dragons.jpg

Finally, the big one – A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin. I’ve been reading the A Song of Ice and Fire books since high school, and I’ve finally gotten to the last one (so far). These are a pain in the ass for me to read, honestly. I have such a tough time with the language and drawn-out plot. After sticking with it for so many years, and with one book left, I don’t want to give up on it. It’ll take me a while, which is why I saved it for summer, but I’m determined to get through it before the end of August.

Are there any novels that have been sitting on your TBR for a while that you plan to get to this summer? As always, you can find me on Twitter, Tumblr, Instagram, and Goodreads and let me know!

Leave a Reply

