Life Update: I Graduated!

Life Update_I Graduated_Header

Hi all,

It’s been a while! For the last three weeks, I’ve been working on finishing up my last undergrad papers, projects, and exams. And it all paid off! This Saturday, I graduated from Slippery Rock University with a BS in English with a concentration in creative writing, as well as a minor in gender studies and a certificate in book arts. It’s been a long, stressful, and exciting journey, and I’ll definitely miss SRU. The English department and Gender Studies faculty and students have given me such a wonderful undergraduate experience and I’m eternally grateful.

Grad Photo

(I have no other solo photos of myself and don’t want to post any with friends without their permission, so here’s a photo of my Legend of Zelda grad cap!)

So what’s next for me? This point in life feels so strange; up until now, everything was organized so neatly. Elementary school, two years of middle school, four years of high school, four years of college and…….the rest of your life! Good luck! Trying to apply for grad school amidst taking 18 credits was too much for me and my anxiety to handle, so I’m taking a year off. My roommate is attending grad school, so we’re going to stick together for the next year or two, and I’ll be moving to a new city with her, which is super exciting! We’ll be a lot closer to some major cities, which we’re really looking forward to. Living in the middle of nowhere has been all right, but I’m definitely ready for a little more excitement. Over the summer, I’ll be applying for jobs and grad schools and hoping for the best as we move. I’m hoping to eventually get my master’s degree in information and Library Science and become a librarian.

If you hadn’t noticed, this blog has had a makeover. Now that I’m finished with college (for now), I definitely want to spend more time creating content for this blog. Starting this week, I’ll be posting twice a week—Wednesdays and Saturdays. A review will go up each Saturday, and Wednesdays will be another kind of bookish, writing, or personal post. I currently have a TBR pile of 11 books stacked next to my desk, plus an entire shelf of unread books, an order of new books on the way, and a pile of reviews I still have yet to write. Hopefully, I can continue to create new content here and improve my blogging skills! I’ve also recreated my bookish Twitter account, which you can follow for live-Tweets of my reads and other bookish/nerdy things I don’t want to flood the timelines of uninterested friends with.

As of now, I’m working on rebuilding my queue of posts that’s run out over the course of the semester, brainstorming new content, packing up our apartment, applying for jobs/grad schools, and submitting to literary magazines. Wish me luck! (I think I’ll need it…)

If you’re new here, welcome! And if you’re not, thank you for sticking with me during this journey. The future has so much to hold, and I’m excited to get started!

2 thoughts on “Life Update: I Graduated!

Leave a comment