Spring 2023 TBR

How is it already March? How is it nearly spring? Already?

I don’t know how the beginning of the year has flown by so quickly, but here we are – my spring 2023 to-be-read list! These are not all of the books I hope to read in March, April, and May, but they are the ones that I definitely want to make sure I get to.


Currently Reading:

First, let’s start with where I currently am. I’m currently reading all about love by bell hooks, and likely to finish in the next day or so. I also started Daughter of the Moon Goddess by Sue Lynn Tan on a whim because I wanted to take a break from nonfiction for a bit, and I was quickly reminded why I usually only read one book at a time – I started both of these books on the same day, and I’m nearly finished with all about love but less than 100 pages into Daughter of the Moon Goddess; I said I wanted a break from nonfic but ended up reading all of my nonfic book and hardly any of my fic book. So – I’ll be finishing all about love and Daughter of the Moon Goddess before diving into my spring 2023 TBR. I also didn’t manage to read Ace by Angela Chen, which was on my winter 2023 TBR, so I’ll be bumping that to my spring TBR; it will likely be my next read.

Okay – moving on from my current reads, let’s really get into my spring 2023 TBR.

Witch Hat Atelier by Kamome Shirahama

Confession: my mood reading did not end with picking up Daughter of the Moon Goddess on a whim. I also borrowed a digital copy of Witch Hat Atelier volume 1 from my library one night when I was sad – and of course I fell in love with the series within the first few pages. So now I’m on a mission to read all ten volumes available from my library. I’ll probably try to savor these rather than binge them, but I’ve already borrowed volume 2 and I’m desperate to get started, especially as we left volume 1 on such a cliffhanger…. (Oh, and it did improve my mood significantly).

Year of the Tiger by Alice Wong

What was that about wanting to take a break from nonfic? I mentioned in previous posts that I’m participating in a nonfiction challenge this year, so understandably I’ll be reading a lot of nonfic (all about love and Ace are both part of this challenge as well). Year of the Tiger is my read for the challenge’s “Book by an Author with a Disability” category, and a book that I’ve seen highly recommended. For no particular reason, this felt like a good springtime read as we move out of the cold and darkness of winter.

The Light We Carry by Michelle Obama

I feel similarly about Michelle Obama’s The Light We Carry, which was gifted to me for Christmas. I actually wanted to read this earlier this year, but as we welcome the lighter days of spring, I thought it would be best for this time of the year. Also, I think I could use some energy and positivity as I try to muster up some motivation for the spring and summer months. This book is also part of the nonfiction challenge, for the category “Book by a BIPOC Woman.”

Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay

Another read for the nonfiction challenge, for the category “Essay Collection.” I’ve loved what I’ve read of Gay’s work so far, and I really wanted to read this for the longest time. Thanks to the nonfiction challenge for giving me an excuse to squeeze it into my TBR! I also tend to gravitate toward these academic or theoretical books around the spring and summer for some reason. Perhaps because I have a bit more time and energy?

Heaven Official’s Blessing (volume 6) by Mo Xiang Tong Xiu

And finally – some fiction! I binged the first five volumes of Heaven Official’s Blessing when I stumbled across it at the library after seeing it constantly online. And of course, like everyone else I’ve ever known who has read it, I absolutely fell in love with these characters (though I have been promised that the Pain is yet to come). I am desperate for the next volume and you can be sure I’ll read it as soon as it comes out in May. My preorder will be in, no worries.

One Last Stop by Case McQuiston

Another I’ve had on my TBR for the longest time. I’ve been wanting to read this since prior to its release, especially since Red, White, and Royal Blue is one of my favorites, and I was so excited to find out the author was publishing a wlw book. I bought myself a copy during my birthday binge at the end of last year, and I’m excited to finally get to it. And look at me, actually reading a romance for once, since as I learned from doing the Midnights Book Tag, I apparently never read romance. And I really do need a break from nonfic, as ya’ll can see. Hoping this one doesn’t disappoint – I trust McQuiston!


And…that wraps up my spring 2023 TBR! Are there any books you’re looking forward to reading this spring? Is there a particular genre or mood you tend to read around this time of year?

As always, thanks for reading, and hope to see you next week for something new!

Leave a comment